Pico de Loro or Laiya?

Finally! Was able to learn a few more things about this site 😊. I got to change the background and header of my profile and I was able to make a simple introduction of myself. I usually have short patience in reading instructions, I’d rather have someone teach me so it’s a big deal for me to learn on my own 😆

So anyway, back to the subject.  Pico de Loro or Laiya?  Right now,  I’m planning for a  get-together with family and few friends this coming September (to celebrate my hubby’s bday).  I am still undecided whether to go to Pico de Loro or Laiya. Both are in Batangas (one is in Nasugbu while the other is in San Juan). If you’re looking for a quick beach vacation, both will suffice na rin since Batangas is the nearest place that has clean beaches. I already experienced going to both resorts, once in Pico and 4 times already in Laiya. Laiya is a “white beach” although the sand’s not really that white and fine (I mean don’t expect Boracay okay?). Pico de Loro has their own beach and 2 infinity pools which are really really nice. We went there last Nov 2013 – just 2 weeks after my CS operation. I can’t swim yet that time,  my scars are still healing but nonetheless we really had so much fun. My toddler, Kiara got to play and swim with Daddy and Tita sa beach and sa pool. Kyle, my new-born, was just sleeping the entire time. Super bait 🙂 Got busy with taking photos and lounging in the beach.

Anyway, since not all of my best friends can come, I’m torn if I will go through my plan sa Pico. I wanted to go there sana pag complete na kami  it’s kinda  mahal kasi. Aside from the accommodation, you still need to pay entrance fee for all visitors. The saving grace about this place is you can bring food inside if you’re renting a condo. A condo for rent usually has complete amenities from stove, pots, kitchen and dining wares and some even have condiments already. I am not the one who planned last time so I have no idea how much the 2 nights cost for the condo but all in all, we spent about 8,000+ for 2 nights including gas, tolls and food. We are 3 adults, 1 toddler and an infant (which doesn’t really count in anything diba?). The price is a little steep but I think it’s worth it because #1. My family enjoyed the trip #2. The place is beautiful and well-maintained, my sis and I fell inlove with it. So considering how big the area is and the amenities they have, I guess the entrance fee of PHP500.00/ hd is reasonable. This rate, btw, is for 2013. I heard they increased the rate to PHP 1,000 for 2014 during peak season. Off-peak is still PHP500.00. I think PHP1k is overkill na siguro I’ll just try other exclusive resorts (Punta Fuego maybe? I heard that a part of their entrance fee is consumable) If marami kayo, better plan na lang during lean season. Anyway, the beach is shallow and calm naman even during rainy season (we went there during tag-ulan, Nov last year).

Okay, as of now, I’m leaning towards Pico as in 60%-40% but of course, it can still change. I will blog about my choice by September.  But as I have mentioned in a previous post, I would really love to be of help to others kaya I’m sharing my knowledge about these 2 places. Here are some facts about Pico de Loro.

Pico de Loro is a high-end residential/resort venture by SM Prime Holdings. It got it’s name from the nearby Mt. Pico de Loro, which from what I have read, is a favored trail for hikers and mountaineers. Pico de Loro is a community in itself. The whole property boasts of the beach, pools, restaurants, a small chapel, numerous recreational areas such as the bowling area, videoke, spa, tennis court, playhouse for toddlers, etc… They offer different water activities – banana boat, kayaking, boating, snorkeling, jetskiing etc…. They also have a gym if you want to break a sweat. Unfortunately all these activities are of course not free. And the charges are quite high, bordering offensive to be honest. If I remember it right, an hour for the videoke costs a thousand bucks! Before one can go to the beach, aside from paying the entrance fee, you have to buy a card and load it with Php 1,000 (Plus 50 for the card itself). The 1k is consumable naman daw but because of the sky high rates of everything in Pico, that 1k will absolutely be nothing. Well, there is  1 thing that’s not going to cost u any fee. As I have mentioned, there’s no corkage for bringing  and consuming the food inside the condo property. Hayyy salamat.. But then, it’s only applicable sa condo ha. Meron din kasing hotel inside called Pico Sands. Of course, super expensive and with limited # of visitors per room. The condo units being rented out are usually far less stricter when it comes to per head. The condo unit we rented before has 2 rooms pero we were about 14 adults and 5 kids ata. I don’t know how much the rate is but I guess hindi na rin lugi since we were able to maximize the place. So if you’re a big group, just rent a condo. I’ll post the number of the owner of the condo that I’m planning to rent this September. For 5k during weekends, they allow up to 8 heads plus 2 toddlers (3 yrs and below). As I have mentioned, complete amenities na rin un. Before I forget, I’d like to discuss the beach inside the property. It’s grayish white but the sand is fine. In the morning, you will see traces of line sa sand parang kinayod. Maybe this is the reason why the sand is really fine and the place is clean. Siguro they’re “mowing” the sands everyday (for the lack of word, I’ll just use mowing. I’ll research na lang and edit this post next time I find out kung anong tawag dun sa process na un). It’s really nice to walk around sa beach, even nicer to have your photos taken there cute kasi ng mga parasols and lounge chairs 🙂 I also have heard from my hubby and sister and read from some other blogs that the water is very nice and clear, you can actually see through the water, para kang nagsnorkeling because you’ll be able to see the fishes. About the pools, there are 2 but for visitors that will not be accompanied by the Owner, you can only use the clubhouse pool. There’s an infinity pool by the beach which can only be used if accompanied by a member. Well, the beach and clubhouse pool are enough  for my hubby and daughter naman. The thing about Pico de Loro is the compound is so huge that an overnight stay is not enough for one to enjoy the amenities. We stayed for 3d2n but I think we were only able to see about half of the compound. It is so relaxing to go around the place btw. You can choose to walk, tour the area with your personal vehicle or use the club’s shuttles which are really cute, they’re like golf carts with more seats 🙂 Whichever you choose, you are still sure to have a great time, the place is so clean and so green and so quiet you’ll never want to go back to reality (OA much lang ako dun but I’m sure you get my point 🙂 ).

Okay now, enough about Pico de Loro. let’s talk about Laiya although I have nothing much to say about the place since it’s a common beach. The sand is not super fine maraming pebbles and may mga corals din kasi sa shore. It’s also way crowded kesa sa Pico since it’s not really private. There are lots of accommodation, you will not have a problem finding one during lean season. But one has to have a great Bargaining powers para makatipid ng todo because while some accommodations are cheap, it’s the food that’s gonna cost you. It’s a practice in most resorts in Laiya to charge the guests per head sa food. Only few resorts allow guests to bring food inside the unit but with corkage din. This is where your hunting and bargaining skills will be beneficial. Laiya’s a long line of resorts and during lean season nag aagawan na ang mga resorts for guests. If u have time, patience and extra money for pamasahe, better head to Laiya personally  and negotiate. If you don’t have the patience or bargaining skill (just like my hubby), you can always go for the more popular resorts there like Aquatico, La Luz, Tamarindu, One Laiya etc… Our last trip in Laiya (3 yrs ago), I remember going to Klub Keluarga for a daytrip. It’s also a nice place but a little expensive. I am contemplating on staying at Sigayan Bay. The cottages are relatively cheaper (I’m choosing the unit good for 8 @6,300 ata if im not mistaken) and they allow guests to bring food. Corkage is P500/night. It’s reasonable enough since you get to use their equipments and ung stove nila. May free water na rin un. I read some blogs lang that the beachfront is not that maganda or malaki but then I don’t really think it’s a problem because you can always choose to go to the other area, wala namang exclusivity sa Laiya (except ata sa La Luz, I’m not sure) you can always enjoy other resort’s beachfront.  Laiya offers water activities din, island hopping and snorkeling, jetsking, kayaking etc… much cheaper than Pico de Loro’s rate. I will be going back this weekend sa Laiya to check the place again I’m sure there have been so many changes na sa area since the last time we went there. I will post another blog for my update.

So there you go. I have mentioned some of the things I remember about the Pico de Loro and Laiya. I’ll add some photos on my next blog, I just need to find the photos from my old hard drive 🙂 Watch out for my other travel blogs around the Philippines – Bohol, Cagayan (Luzon), Ilocos Sur, Ilocos Norte, Pampanga, Tagaytay, San Juan La Union, Baguio, Bicol and more. Coming soon (this November), my blog  on our trip to Boracay.  But right now, I need to rest, it’s 3am already and I’m a little sleepy. So  goodbye and til my next blog!!! 🙂

Update:

We decided to go to Pico de Loro and it was a hit for everyone! I’m really happy I was able to show this place to my friends, na-inlove din sila 🙂 Anyway, about the unit, let me correct myself pala, the owner is limiting 8 guests including the kids. The rate was 5,000 as of 2014. The owners are Jojo and Cherry Genato. The number I have is 09178864082. The unit is at Carola 203B overlooking the mountains. See the photos below? That’s the sight that welcomed us early in the morning. That’s why super fresh ng hangin pag gising namin and it was really cold and misty. Well, bukod sa bumabagyo nung time na yun hehehe (yah it was so malas na bagyo pa ung time ng punta namin).

The unit is small but the owner was able to maximize the space by using space saving furnitures like the double deck. The bed looks like a wall di ba? It’s really neat! We love it! You will also see the sofa turned to into a queen sized bed. I know they’re not unique ideas but the way they were incorporated to the place, very tasteful siya and not tacky (what’s tacky is my hubby’s pose in the photo hehehe) I know it doesn’t look too much in the photos but when you see it yourself, you’ll feel drawn to the unit’s charm. Yun ung tamang description for this place, it’s really charming and cute. Feel at home ka and there’s nothing complicated or pretentious about the place. Of course we have different tastes and opinions. If you’re used to 5-star hotels, well I suggest siguro stay at Pico Sands. I haven’t seen the hotel and the suites but I expect it to be top-class since this is a high-end place. Most likely you’ll be more comfortable there. But all of us, we loved the unit and if we will have extra budget to go back sa Pico, we will definitely choose to stay at  this place.

10697372_811552702198712_75596756829771241_o 10636716_811540598866589_1418988084296049416_o

1523652_811552382198744_7436068379372176038_o

10661617_811551375532178_2472501713368763432_o

10629521_811552088865440_7171468732699024421_o

10623439_811540288866620_4176710208212040790_o

10620045_811552488865400_8138920954037159334_o
20140913_145902

 20140913_150353

Unfortunately, I just don’t have too much time to post more photos of the whole place. I’m in a middle of something something now (what a word something something hehehe) but I’ll try to post more photos before the month ends (hopefully).

Anyway, that’s it for now. Hope you enjoyed my blog! We will be off to Calaguas (Mahabang Buhangin) in Camarines Norte this summer so watch out for my blog about the place. I’m really excited about it 🙂

‘Til my next blog loves! HAPPY SUMMER!!!

Tins ❤ ❤ ❤ 🙂 🙂 🙂

12 comments on “Pico de Loro or Laiya?

  1. Thanks for your post, very infromative. I you don’t mind may i have your the owner’s contact for Pico? I’m planning to book din this Oct for a big group like yours. Thank you.

  2. Hi mai! I’m scheduled to return to Pico this weekend. I’ll post my comment about the condo unit that we stayed at early next week. Here are the #s 8618675 and 09178547059. The name of the guy who owns the unit is Jojo yata if I remember correctly. Although my suggestion is wait until I post my comment before contacting him I don’t want to recommend ng di ako sure if the place or his policies are ok. I’ll get back to u

    • Hello ask ko lang po. Panu po yung naging mode of payment ninyo with the unit owner? Full payment po ba agad or pwedeng pagdating na sa pico. Thanks!

      • Hello! The owner is requiring full payment. The guy’s family is the owner of Sir William’s Hotel in Quezon City. We chose to pay sa reception nila sa Sir William’s, we really thought it was safer kesa bank deposit. You know how it is, ang hirap magtrust kapag nakita mo lang ung ad online pero so far legitimate naman and meron talaga silang condo sa Pico. If you live far from QC, go for the bank option. The owner will send u the details. Let me know if u still need help 😉

  3. Thanks sa quick response. Kinakabahan kasi ako for bank deposit pero nakita ko kasi tong blog mo kya it really helps a lot. Thank you! =)

    • You’re welcome! 🙂 I’m glad to be of help to you. I have the same issues naman din kaya whenever I can, I blog my experiences to help others. Anyway, enjoy your trip! Feel free to visit, like and share my posts anytime 🙂

  4. hi miss tisestrella. ask ko lang po if galing ka ng laiya batangas (kabayan beach resot), pano po makakapunta sa pico de loro? is there any posibble transportation there going to pico de loro? thank you so much. hope you read this and reply. thanks again. 🙂

    • Hi Aivy Im sorry for my late reply. Unfortunately I’m really bad with directions. Si hubby kasi ang tanungan ko but he is in Pampanga right now. But as far as I know, there’s no public transpo available going to Pico lahat ata sa Nasugbu ang stop. When we went there last 2014, my friend from Lipa who followed us had to ask for us to fetch them from Nasugbu since walang masakyan. But I’ll confirm this first. I wish I could help more but right now, my guide is miles and miles away 😦

    • Hi! Sorry for the late confirmation. My husband checked from google map. It’s a long travel, dulo dulo ang Laiya at Nasugbu. From Laiya, follow the road going to Rosario, Ibaan, San Pascual, Batangas City, Bauan, Alitagtag, Lemery, Balayan then finally Nasugbu. Bayan bayan ang dadaanan mo talaga. I am not sure how long the travel time will be but as I have said magkabilang dulo sila at daraanan mo pa yung bawat bayan so consider the traffic. It may take more than 3 hours. Kung marami rin lang kayo, it’s best to rent a van na lang siguro to save you from the hassle.

  5. Hi. Do you have any photos of the unit in pico de loro or any ad listing i can view? I found your blog really helpful. We are planning to have our family outing at pico so I am in search of good accommodation options. Thank you in advance!

Leave a comment