A 4-star experience at Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria

We had an overnight stay in Crowne Plaza Gelleria last October for my birthday. This is a 4-star hotel located in Ortigas. To be honest, I only had the chance to experience 4-star hotels when I stayed overnight at Vivere in Alabang, spent a whole day at The Venetian Hotel in Macau (this is a 5-star Hotel), and an afternoon at Mandarin Hotel in Makati. I’m not picky. When we have vacations, 3-stars and hostels are enough for me. After all, we’re just going to stay outside for the rest of the day. Why go for unneccessary expense. But if you’re rich then by all means go and splurge. Do what will make you happy 🙂 that’s my rule 🙂

Anyway, of the 4 hotels, this is the biggest one in terms of space. They’re mostly the same naman in my opinion (well, except for The Venetian, this hotel is really over-the-top), marbled walls and tiles for the bathroom with bathtub, comfortable beds, complementary drinks, neutral to gold room color, towels, robe, toiletries and breakfast buffet. With the hefty price tag, you are guaranteed a good night’s sleep. Happy tummy too for the breakfast buffet. 4-5 stars hotels have exemplary lobby and room interiors and you would really feel pampered. The place is luxurious and did not dissappoint but maybe I’m just looking for something different, something that will stand out, that will make me say, ahhh this is what Crowne Plaza is all about. A place needs to have a “Signature Look” for me. I need to remember how to distinguish one from the other.

At Vivere (Alabang), the pool is at the rooftop of the hotel, it’s also where they serve the breakfast, it’s really nice since you have the view of the whole Alabang area (this is what I remember when I stayed there few years ago. I don’t know if it’s still the same). I also had the chance to eat at Spiral, the flagship restaurant of Sofitel (just dine, we did not stay here). Their pool has spectacular view of Manila Bay and the sunset is just amazing and romantic, which is very nice for couples dating. You also have choices on where you want to dine, indoor or al fresco style. We were not able to check the pool at Crowne Plaza unfortunately, since it’s under maintenance. It would have been nice, Kiara loves swimming so much. She just contented herself swimming in the large bathtub in the bathroom (I’m really happy about the size of the bathtub by the way. Kiara and I were able to fit). She’s a kid, all kids love water. It doesn’t matter whether we are in a pool, beach or an inflatable pool in the house. Just as long as she can play with the water, she is satisfied.

Anyway, my hubby checked us in as we were busy buying some stuffs from Robinson’s Supermarket. It did not take him too long. Maybe because we checked in a little late and there were not much guests anymore. Afterwards, we just ate a little then crashed the room. I really had a good night’s sleep. Did you ever had this dilemma when you’re in a different place and you want to sleep and just can’t? Even in hotels where the bed and pillows are soft but you still feel they’re different (especially with the pillows, usually they’re too soft for my liking, it’s like I’m being gobbled up by 2 toddler-sized marshmallows hehehe) Well, I did not have this problem with Crowne Plaza. Somehow, the bed, the pillows, the space, they’re just so right. I was happy 🙂

So after that wonderful sleep, it’s time for breakfast. We were early, we were at the resto at 6:45am because I wanted to enjoy the buffet longer since I like to eat. A lot. And when I say a lot, I mean a lot. Vikings is usually where we go the most because of the food selection and I can spend 4 hours eating nonstop. In my opinion, the breakfast buffet at their restaurant, Seven Corners is not really as extensive as I expected of a 4-star hotel. I didn’t really like the taste of their cooked food so much too. I remember Mandarin Hotel having more and better-tasting breakfast selection. They do have Indian food served, which I don’t usually see in many breakfast buffets. But like Mexican food, I’m wary of Indian food because of too much spices. I don’t usually like heavy and complicated flavors in my plate. So I just chose the usual, some Maki, sushi and sashimi, bread and pastry (I love the Danish pastry), had some freshly cooked eggs from omelette section, noodles, cheeses, bacon, fruits etc… They have some cooked food such as adobo, itlog na pula with tomato, dory in spicy tomato sauce, veggies etc…. All in all, the food selection is okay, again, not as many and superb as the one from Mandarin Hotel, IMO. But I was pleased because there’s Taho which is the favorite of my daughter. It was soo good, so silky and glides easily when your drinking it.

All in all, we had a wonderful time. I’m just so sad that my son, Kyle, was not able to join us. Unfortunately, he had to rest at home, he’s got a little something that needs to be healed. We missed him but it was also nice to have time away from the baby, you know, just relax a little. Babies are really handful and tiring to look after, and while we really extremely love our kids and babies, sometimes we need to have time away from them or  eventually you’ll end up in a psychiatric ward, hehe just kidding. But I’m sure you Moms know what I mean 😉

Anyway, if you’re thinking of where to stay in Ortigas area and budget is not really a question for you, then I suggest  stay at Crowne Plaza. It’s very comfy  plus it’s just beside Robinsons so it’s very much convenient. Staffs are also nice. But basically for me, it doesn’t matter where you’re staying, just let yourself go and enjoy the day. Don’t be too snobby and critical, I have read so may reviews in the internet when people are making reklamo for the smallest reason. I know it’s extremely judgemental of me, maybe masyadong mataas lang ang standard ng ibang tao but you know, nothing beats having fun, even the crappiest place could be the most fun place in the world if you let everything go. Just enjoy with your family, friends, partner etc…. I make reviews for information purposes for people to have a little idea on a places that we go to and our experiences. I love to share and tell stories because I’m hoping I could I could get people to think “Hmmnn, I want to see that place, or eat at that place, I want to experience that”. And don’t get me wrong, I also complain but only when I receive a really really bad service or I don’t get what I have been promised. And I  try to be nice the first time I complain but when someone gets really really rude, that’s when I really get mad. But believe me, I have to be in the worst situation for me to get mad.

But anyway, like I said, it’s very important to just enjoy and have fun. Appreciate the experience and the people you’re sharing it with. It’s not the price tag of a place or food, or anything else. It’s your experience. And really, you can’t put a price to that :).

Leave a comment